Day 1

The real day one, for me, likely began on the day I was born and given up for adoption. Adoption is something Mickey & I have talked about for years as well. We finally began the process in May 2011 and became licensed in September. At some point, I will go back and cover the details of the licensing process, but for now I want to begin with today and move forward so I dont miss a thing.

Tomorrow we will meet the 2 children that will become a part of our family. Donald & Daffy will become our children and the siblings to Tinkerbell, Goofy and Pluto. They are already a part of our hearts. We have begun preparations to welcome them in to our home.

The concept of “meeting” our children for the first time is extremely intimidating. I am certain that they have an image in their minds about what their future parents will look like. I don’t know if they have considered siblings or pet in their imaginary families. We have read their full adoptive histories, but that doesn’t help me to know what to expect their reaction to be tomorrow when our eyes meet for the first time. We have meet with countless social workers, but that is no guarantee that they will even LIKE us, let alone learn to love us in time.

I am nervous and I am excited. I have been counting the days and now I can count in hours. I know this is the eve of something most magical!

-Minnie xo

[All names have (obviously) been changed to protect the privacy of our family.]

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Expectations « Foster Adoption Blog

Leave a Reply

