One more visit under our belt!

Its so strange to talk about visits with our kids…. it makes me think of divorced parents getting the kids on the weekends.  The last thing I want to be is a Disneyland Mom ( no PUN intended, LOL)…..

Yesterday went really well. I met Donald for his appointment in the morning.It turns out he had been crying… he was afraid if I got to know him that I would change my mind about adopting him! Its just another reminder that this is going to be a long haul.

Its odd to think their their nerves about this situation rival my own. Every time we are called to a meeting, I expect they will pull the plug. I feel like I am being asked to the principals office. I feel like I am “in trouble”, like they will “see through me” (not that there is anything to see) and  will decide that I am not fit. If only the kids could understand that I have the same feelings that they have.

Of note yesterday, Daffy was angry with Donald because he grabbed my phone and was trying to get attention. She was pouting and explained “He is just trying to act out to make you like him better than me”…. I explained to her that we like them both whether they act up or not. Hopefully, she heard a little of what I said.

Gotta scoot…. Donald’s bed is being delivered now…. what a reality check! 🙂

-Minnie xo

[All names have (obviously) been changed to protect the privacy of our family.]

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

