A few Daffy-isms to lighten the mood…

I feel like this blog has slipped from the positive and energetic note that I started on to a great abyss of fear and venting. In an effort to lighten the mood a bit, I want to share a few recent conversations with Daffy that are the very fiber of what keeps us going and makes this whole journey worthwhile.

In no particular order:

  • Saturday at the science museum, her friends asked her where Donald was. She calmly explained that he is at the hospital but added “Don’t worry, they are keeping me!”
  • At school last week, a friend saw her legal name and asked her about it. She explained to them that she has 2 Moms and 2 Dads and that she recently found out we are her “real” parents so now she has to wait for her name to be changed! What a really cute way to avoid admitting she is in foster care!
  • She was out with a friend for Chinese food Saturday night and she was playing fortune teller. When she was asked what her future held, she said “to become Mickey and Minnie’s daughter forever & ever.” Love that kid, seriously love her.
  • Daffy came home from school yesterday shouting out a certificate she received from Girl Scouts. I asked her to see it and she produced the registration form. LOL
  • Found a calendar from the transition in her room. On one side, she drew a picture of Santa Claus and on the other she added “forever and ever” to every day after her homecoming on January 17th. Totally made me smile and I took it when she wasnt looking.

In other positive news, my blog will be getting a makeover in the next several weeks so keep your eye out for a much more pleasing look! I am really excited about “tidying” up this little place I call home on the internet! This is currently my only blog, but I have been blogging and running various websites for the past decade. I havent blogged in nearly a year and am really enjoying having a place to release and process my thoughts. I am so grateful to those of you that subscribe, read, comment and support me. I dont know that I could have survived if not for the fact of so many incredible faceless people on the internet sharing their experiences, advice and general love. When we decided to adopt through foster care, many people commented that it takes a special person to do what we do. I always brushed it off saying that anyone could do this. I know different now that I have “met” so many of you. It truly does take a special person and I am very honored to be among so many special people who are leading the way for me on this crazy journey. Thank you.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Meagan

     /  February 10, 2012

    I LOL’d at the girl scout certificate! Reminds me of my daughter 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

