The Getaway!

Mickey and I celebrated 16 years of wedding bliss this week! As is customary in our marriage, we went away to celebrate… and took the kids! Its hard to imagine a life that doesnt include them so we have always taken them with us! We chose an indoor water park for the night. Honestly, its probably the best day we have had as a foster family. Having something specific and active to do was GREAT for Daffy’s (suspected) ADHD. More importantly, the boys having some “good” moments with Daffy- creating some positive history- was the best part of the trip!

We have had a good run for the past few days with Daffy so I fully expect a meltdown of some sort soon. LOL I am knocking on wood, of course, but let’s not be foolish, its inevitable! And I am okay with that… I know this is a marathon, not a sprint and I am in it for the long haul!

We had a meeting with our social worker today and one of her objectives was to get information from Daffy that will be shared at the treatment team meeting this week. Daffy set 4 goals:

  1. Adoption by the end of the year (because she thinks “kids usually get adopted at the end of the year”)
  2. Getting a pet of her own (she added a note that she needs to persuade her parents, lol)
  3. Attending treatment team meetings in the future in some capacity (not really her own goal, more encouraged by the sw, she seemed quite content to let everyone makes decisions for her)
  4. Share a room with Donald

So, yeah, #4 threw me for a loop, too…. upon further questions from the sw, Daffy shared that she is afraid to sleep alone and wants ANYONE to sleep in her room. It has nothing to do with her brother. She mentioned again that she wants a “Pillow Pet with a light” that I have since learned is a Dream Lite! They are a little on the spendy side (especially when you add shipping), but if it will alleviate her fears of sleeping in her room alone, then I may have to break down and buy one. If anyone finds a better price somewhere, please let me know! 🙂

In Donald updates, we have been speaking to him daily. Last night, I asked about the meds and he said he had only one day left. I asked how the new homeopathic stuff was going and he mentioned that they “sprayed” something under his tongue so he would stop crying yesterday. Huh? I am hoping there is a logical explanation for this. He didnt seem upset about it, simply matter-of-fact, but to a “homeopathic lamen” like myself, this sounds a bit unorthodox. I have emailed the group home (copying his cw, of course) and hope to hear back with more details so I can investigate this myself. Is anyone out there is cyberland familiar with such a product? Please give me a comment!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Glad you had a good time! What about this for the light – http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=3813330

    Reply

Leave a Reply

