Team Meeting Update

Yesterday was our monthly team meeting and overall, it went well. The team One big boss decided that future meetings will still be held together so confidentiality for both of the kids is out the window. I had bigger fish to fry than arguing about meetings,though. My big concern for the meeting  was what Daffy’s visitation with Donald should look like. I have been hesitant to bring her because Donald has been so unstable. Her therapist agreed with me, but with a team of this size, you simply never know where they will go or what they will decide. Daffy wrote a letter to the team requesting that she see her brother once per month and be allowed to decide when she doesn’t want to go. Thankfully the team (& that one big boss) agreed with her request! I am sure this wont be the last discussion on the topic but at least we have something set up and agreed upon for the time being.

One of my favorite parts of the team meeting was when the GAL gave his report after meeting with Daffy last week. He told the team she was doing well and was “well placed” with us! It always feels good to hear that!

We also had our quarterly check in with the court. This is the first time I got to meet the judge. She asked me some basic questions about how Daffy is doing and thanked me for my commitment to both kids. I think the kids would really like her as she doesn’t have the stereotypical gruff judge appearance.

I also learned that the one-on-one aid that Donald had been with at our local school is on workman’s comp from an injury she sustained from Donald!!!! He hasn’t been at that school in more than TWO MONTHS and no one ever mentioned this! I am really frustrated that the school kept the seriousness of the situation from us when he was in our care. Furthermore, it might have been helpful for the next school to be aware of before they accepted him back! I was stunned to be learning of this only yesterday. I immediately reported it to both my social worker and caseworker. I don;t know if anything will come of it, but it was definitely not something I was going to keep to myself.

Daffy had therapy this morning. She was quite irritated that Mickey was taking her, but did finally go after I threatened to cancel weekend plans. Mickey talked to her therapist about last week’s throwing of the cat incident. When the session ended the therapist mentioned giving Daffy some goals to work on in regards to the cats. Hopefully we can get to the bottom if her pet issues, because its definitely a sore subject for me.

Thats all the scoop for today!

-Minnie xo

[All names have (obviously) been changed to protect the privacy of our family.]

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Glad that the team agreed to her request.

    Thank you for joining up with A Real Adoption Blog Hop!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

