Gratitude

In addition to our nightly chats, Daffy & I have recently begun writing back and forth in a journal. Sometimes we write during our chat time and read them out loud to each other. The other day, Daffy’s note included a PS thanking us for coming to her Wax Museum. Our conversation following went something like this:

Me: Daffy, why would you thank me for coming to your Wax Museum?

Daffy: Because I thought you would be too busy to come.

Me: What? No! We are never too busy for our kids! That’s what families do- they support each other!

Daffy: No one ever came for me before when I was at the group home.

Her words broke my heart! As grateful as I am to the group home that cared for her and provided safety for 2.5 years, they were not a family. They could not provide the love and support that a little girl needs, the kind of love that can only come from parents. I am grateful for the opportunity to provide that love to her and pray to God we are able to adopt her and show her that family truly is forever.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I love this idea! What a great way to create a safe and potentially less awkward way to chat about certain topics. I could see this being very helpful in our house. (And, ok, the fact that it would force writing practice is a bonus as well).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

