A Respite Update

The pregnant teen stayed with us for 6 consecutive nights in September. The last few days of her stay, we also had Alice for the weekend. That turned out to be a very bad decision and not one I will repeat. I ended up having to call the on-call services available through our (former) agency for advice which is something I hadn’t done since Donald was here in January. The pregnant teen believed that Alice had stolen her iPod and was insistant that I needed to STRIP SEARCH her. Uh, no. Just no. It was intense at the time, but that is long behind us now.

We have a planned respite for the pregnant teen at the beginning of November. I am planning a baby shower for her which I am really excited about. Regardless of the challenges she faces as a teen mom, I want her to feel nurtured and loved and I certainly want her to have the things she needs to best care for her baby. The odds are stacked against her in every way possible, so this is the least I can do.

Alice is currently in a group home and her team is considering whether or not going back to her foster family is the best thing for her (or for her sisters who are placed with the foster family). It’s looking unlikely she will return to them so our role as her respite family is on hold indefinitely.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. So you are doing respite only for the pregnant teen? I’m curious b/c I have a teen in my home now who has a pregnant fiance and they have marriage plans for next summer when they will both be 18. Its a new situation for me and the worker is giving me little guidance (or communication at all). I am questioning my role in his life and his baby’s and girlfirend’s, both now and after he turns 18. If anyone out there has experience in this, I’d love to hear your story!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

