52 Lists | My Favorite Adoption Songs

Home by Phillip PhillipsI have always loved lists! Lists help me process my life and help me stay on track (when I use them, anyway). I recently stumbled on Moorea Seal‘s blog where she shared the following:

I love lists!  So I thought it would be fun to start a series on my blog for 2013 that focuses on List making, lists for fun, lists for self discovery, you name it.  And it’s all about participation!  Each week I’ll have a new list prompt for you to download.  I think it could be really fun to print out a page each week, collect them through the year and then bind them together at the end of the year as a little memento of 2013.

I can’t say that I will always follow her prompts or even reach 52 Lists in 2013. I’m going to share lists in my own way and at my own pace. (I don’t need any more obligations or pressures in my life right now.)

One of the things I have often searched for over the past year is a list of the best foster care and adoption related songs. So, here you have it, my top 5 songs:

  • Dark Side by Kelly Clarkson
    I think this song applies to many kids in foster care, especially ones with Reactive Attachment Disorder. Daffy has definitely made the connection to the lyrics and how it applies to her life. In many ways, I feel like she is still showing us her dark side and testing us to see if we will always love her.
  • I Won’t Give Up by Jason Mraz
    This song played while we were on our way to the courthouse for Daffy’s adoption. I HATE crying in front of the kids, but I couldn’t stop the tears from rolling down my cheeks. We didn’t give up and we WON’T give up.
  • Home by Phillip Phillips
    This song played during the A Home For The Holidays special and it truly could not be more perfect!
  • Temporary Home by Carrie Underwood
    Ahhhhh, what a tearjerker. I don’t know how anyone could listen to this song and NOT feel for children in foster care.
  • A Thousand Years by Christina Perri
    This is one of the first songs I dedicated to Daffy when she moved in a year ago. Cue more tears when a friend of mine made a video using this song and pictures of Daffy & me.

Hmmmmm…. I am seeing a common theme with my selections: TEARS! I guess thats par for the course given the struggles facing children in foster care as well as the powerful emotions evoked through adoption.

Do you have any favorites to add to my list?

signature

Previous Post
Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. I don’t know any of these, but will definitely look them up.
    I know Michael Buble’s ‘I just haven’t met you yet’ is poignant for many prospective adopters, and a great song too!

    Reply
  2. Love this! Thanks for sharing these songs. A favorite of mine is “All of Me” by Matt Hammitt – I’m sure it’s one foster parents could appreciate.

    Reply
  3. thanks for the list! I just bought them all and will make an itunes playlist and give the teen his own cd 🙂

    Reply
  4. Kings & Queens by Audio Adrenaline. Every time I hear this song, I long to care for a child and be there for them. When with my wife, we look at each other and say this is our foster care song!
    Thanks for the list; will check them out.

    Reply
  5. gabberdoo

     /  March 30, 2013

    Beauty In The Broken – Hyland

    Reply
  6. gabberdoo

     /  March 30, 2013

    You’ll Be In My Heart – Phil Collins

    Reply
  7. Cyndi

     /  May 28, 2013

    I’m not sure exactly what the song is called but I think it’s called Oklahoma by billy gillman

    Reply
  8. Dayna

     /  May 30, 2013

    I Wonder
    -by Kelly Pickler
    What ya gonna do about me
    -by Reba McIntire

    As a child of a woman who decided (when I was 3), to give me up…. I still don’t understand.

    Reply
  9. Rochelle

     /  June 12, 2013

    Thank you for the list of songs. We are having an adoption party for our 2 1/2 year old that we adopted through foster care. I’m making a DVD of pictures of him and wanted to have adoption themed songs playing in the background. Your list is great. Thanks!

    Reply
  10. Thanks for the ideas! We’re making a dvd too!! We finalize this friday!!

    Reply
  11. Melanie

     /  October 10, 2013

    Amy Stroup- Hold onto Hope

    Reply
  12. Little Wonders by Rob Thomas

    Reply
  13. Katelyn Fleming

     /  February 17, 2014

    Going Under by Saliva……………… My name is Katelyn Fleming and i just turned 16 years old and i found out i was adopted when i was about 10.A part of me is jealous of everyone else who never had to go through the feelings of being abandoned nor the mystery of identity lurking somewhere beyond my reach. I’m alone to sail my own ship with no course of direction. I have always thought that being adopted would make me different and that no one would understand but the truth is that being adopted means that you are special and that God had a different plan for you in your life! I have been trying to figure out who i truly am and this songs is perfect 🙂

    Reply
  14. Nicole

     /  February 19, 2014

    A little late in the game, sorry =P If you’re still wondering about adoption songs, check out When Love Takes You In by Steven Curtis Chapman

    Reply
  15. Heather

     /  February 23, 2014

    Thank You so much for your list of songs, we have been doing Foster care for 3 years now and have had a sibling group of 3 with us almost 2yrs and now will be getting adopted by my cousin and his wife. I really wanted to put something special together for them and I listened to everyone of your songs crying like a baby. Again Thank you so Much!

    Reply
  16. Zoe

     /  March 5, 2014

    Where You Belong by Kari Kimmel

    Reply
    • Jennifer Stovall

       /  March 13, 2014

      Zoe, thanks for telling me about Where you Belong…awesome song and it fits my situation perfectly

      Also..check out songs by Becky Wright and Mandi Mapes (this Love)

      Reply
  17. Ashley

     /  May 27, 2014

    As an adopted child these are some of my favorites.
    Nobody’s Home by Avril Lavigne
    When She Cries by Britt Nicole
    Blown Away by Carrie Underwood
    Temporary Home by Carrie Underwood
    Boulevard Of Broken Dreams by Green Day
    Concrete Angel by Martina McBride
    Broken Girl by Matthew West
    Held by Natalie Grant
    Overcomer by Mandisa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

