The Fosters

The FostersI finally got a few extra minutes this week to watch the series premiere of The Fosters on OnDemand. Have you seen it? I have to say, it wasn’t at all what I expected. The thing that struck me the most, though, is how painful it was to watch. The writers and cast nailed the underlying feeling of chaos within the foster care system. From case workers who are “on vacation” during critical transitions, to siblings being separated, this show dug deep in the very first episode. Despite my discomfort, I am likely to watch again.

Have you seen it? What did you think?

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Made the effort to DVR this but haven’t watched it yet. Thought it might be good to watch with our son after I’ve previewed it. I suspect it might be a little mature for our 10-year-old but thought I’d give it a try just in case.

    Reply
  2. Hi, I’m a new reader to your blog. I think I started reading about 3 or 4 posts ago. 🙂
    Anyway, I wrote my own review of the show:
    http://chittisterchildren.wordpress.com/2013/06/10/review-of-the-fosters/

    Reply
  3. I watched the first two episodes and am looking forward to the 3rd. Although it’s not perfect, I love how it treats foster children as “regular kids,” instead of contagious damaged goods, which is what most of society seems to do. I reviewed it on our blog yesterday.

    Reply
  4. I’ve been really busy lately. But still love your website! Informative AND beautiful!

    Reply
  5. Just wanted to write and say THANK YOU for sharing your story. We’re just beginning (and blogging) our journey into foster adoption, and I’ve been searching for blogs like yours who are current and offer information and honest reality.

    Kelley
    http://at-hom-mommy.blogspot.com

    Reply
  6. Stephanie

     /  June 27, 2013

    I’m absolutely loving the show. Admittedly, I’m a sucker for ABC Family shows, so that might show my taste in TV ;). I think it’s as realistic as we can expect from Hollywood. A friend of mine said she felt as if she was seeing foster care from the child’s perspective. Since I am a foster parent, and she hears/sees my side often- she said it was nice to see the other side.
    I hope it does that for many people!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

